advanced search

The Covenant of Mayors

On September 9,2014 by the decision N 204-A of the Council of Elders of Yerevan, the city of Yerevan joined the EU Covenant of Mayors the aim of which is to encourage «green economic development» in communities, to improve the quality of life population by using energy saving technologies and renewable energetic sources.
Within its liabilities the Municipality, in the collaboration with partner organizations and private sector, pledges to reduce CO2 emissions by 20% by 2020 by means of working out and implementing appropriate action plan in the spheres of energy efficiency and renewable energy sources.
The Sustainable Energy Action Plan (SEAP) of the city includes:
a) «Basic Cadaster for Emissions» to estimate annual benchmark rates of energy consumption and CO2 emissions,
b) the list of actions aimed at energy saving and energy efficiency increase, as well as at using renewable energy sources to reduce the emissions at least by 20% by 2020
c) the program and schedule of suggested actions as well as information on the persons in charge for the actions implementation and/or the organizations and sources of financing
d) estimates of the economic and ecological results expected after the realization of the actions
e)monitoring of the results received
In accordance with the agreement reached with the UNO Development Program in Armenia, the latter will show technical support to Yerevan Municipality to work out SEAP for Yerevan within the scope of «Covenant of Mayors».